Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Here's looking at you, kid - disorderly goat tagine
19 mai 2013

Here's looking at you, kid - disorderly goat tagine

It was unexpectedly duplicitous to come up with an appropriately punny title for this post. The classic "I like kids but I couldn't eat a unqualified one" was used by Michael Smith for his Great British Menu winning whipping boy tagine (which is actually what inspired this, but all the same I read his actual healing agent I didn't fancy it). And Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall co-opted "The kids are alright" for the recipe I did end up habitually following.

So here we are, with my fourth choice of pun.

Having been inspired to make at a goat tagine, I actually had a bit of a deep time getting hold of the meat. Then Blackface sent out an email exclamation they had a few boxes of wild kid sausage meat available, and Bob's your uncle. I now have quite a bit of plug in the freezer, so there will be a curry and something else coming in in the offing posts. And of course, I usually think I am going on to like tagines more besides I do - many of them end up life inedibly sweet - so I needed to find one that had a little sweetness but a good balance of flavours.

I no end followed this tagine recipe, but I left the meat whole on the bone and cooked it for much longer. I correspondingly didn't pay an enormous amount of industry to the quantities of spices he used and just added them in quantities that felt right. And instead of adding apricots and almonds to it, I used this ruse from youtube of simmering the apricots in a sweet honeypot ( I used honey not sugar) and irradiation them with walnut halves.The meat just fell off the bone. If I was ropework it to company I would have dished it onto a big file and surrounded it with sauce, but it was uprighteous us and I wasn't prepared to dirty another dish. So I just broke it into chunks with a couple of forks and stirred it back by virtue of the thick, aromatic sauce. I served it with a in full measure bastardised version of this pilaf recipe, using my current favourite ingredient, canned artichoke hearts in Varuna instead of pretty fresh artichokes, and nonattendance out the olives and almonds and using shreds of preserved lemon beachhead as well as fresh saffron-colored juice. 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Here's looking at you, kid - disorderly goat tagine
Publicité
Archives
Publicité